Skip to main content
my account
email usour twitterour facebook page pintrestlinkdin
Foundations of Tea I
Foundations of Tea I

Level I: Foundation Series
Foundations of Tea: Level One

As the first course in STI’s expanding education and certification program, Foundations of Tea: Level One will provide attendees with a strong understanding of the 5 basic tea types and the two traditional styles of orthodox tea production used to create them. Topics also include the essential components of teas, where and how teas are grown, the stages of processing and what differentiates the different types and classifications of tea. Attendees will have the opportunity to taste representative samples of each of the 5 tea types, discuss tea steeping methods and examine the basic characteristics of different teas.

Level I: Foundation Series
Foundations of Tea: Level One Class Schedule

9:00 – 9:15am: Introductions and Orientation

9:15 – 10:45am:

  • Section 1 – The World of Specialty Tea
  • Section 2 - Introduction to Stages of Processing and Manufacturing
  • Section 3 - Stages of Processing and Manufacture – Chinese method

10:45 – 11:15am: Break

11:15am – 12:30pm:

  • Section 4 - Introduction to Tea Tasting
  • Section 5 – White and Green Teas

12:30 to 1:30: Lunch

1:30 to 3:00pm:

  • Section 6 – Oolong Teas
  • Section 7 - Stages of processing and manufacture – British method
  • Section 8 - Stages of Processing and manufacture – Pu’erh

2:55 – 3:25pm: Break

3:25 – 4:15pm:

  • Section 9 - Tasting both black and pu’erh

4:15 – 5:00pm:

Section 10 - Review and test

Registration Information

Foundations of Tea II
Foundations of Tea II

Level II: Foundation Series
Foundations of Tea: Level Two

Building on the essential groundwork presented in Level One, Foundations of Tea: Level Two will examine CTC tea production and manufacture, as well as blending, flavoring and scenting, and introduction to sensory evaluation of teas. Also included is an introduction to the principles of grading and naming teas by country of origin. This seminar will allow attendees to examine and taste 5-6 pairs of teas as they are guided through the basics of a comparison cupping of the 5 tea types.


9:00am-9:15am: Introductions and Orientation


  • Section 1 - Introduction to Stages of Production and Manufacture
  • Section 2 - Grading and Naming

10:45am-11:15am: Break


  • Section 3 - Blending
  • Section 4 - Flavoring and Scenting
  • Section 5 - Intro to Sensory
  • Section 6 - Tasting White Teas

12:30pm-1:30pm: Lunch


  • Section 7 - Tasting Green Teas
  • Section 8 - Tasting Oolong Teas (30 mins)

2:30pm-3:00pm: Break


  • Section 9 - Tasting Indian Black Teas
  • Section 10 - Tasting Ceylon Loose Leaf and CTC Teas
  • Section 11 - Tasting Pu'erh Teas

4:15pm-4:30pm: Review

4:30pm-5:00pm: Test

Registration Information

Success Tea Foundation Specialty Tea Institute
Success! You did it!
LaDonna Olmstead receiving her Certified Tea Specialist certificate with Kyle Stewart and Jennifer Petersen in San Francisco, CA
LaDonna Olmstead Owner, Tea Madame Sumner, WA
Pedro Rosas, Q Trade Intl, Certified Tea Specialist
Pedro Rosas Q Trade Int'l Santa Fe Springs, CA STI Certified Tea Specialist
Charity Chalmers, Chariteas Tea, Certified Tea Specialist
Charity Chalmers Owner, Chariteas Sandy, Oregon